Food for Your Face by Firefly – Review

Food For Your Face by Firefly is a Pakistani brand that manufactures homemade cleansers, masks and toners (now also essential oils and creams!). I bought a few products from them over a couple of months and today I am going to post my honest review about them all. Before I start this blog post, I’d like to mention that my mom also tried these products so I’ll be writing the review from both our point of views. My skin is dry, sensitive and eczematous and my mom’s is normal and mature. Keep reading to find out how my experience (and my mom’s) has been!

Briar Rose Cleanser

This is the first cleanser that I ordered from FFYF. The first thing that you notice when you order these is the amazing SMELL. All the products from this page smell like spring, and if you’re stressed about something just take that cleanser bag and smell it. Just do it. Seriously.

3

The FFYF page provides all the instructions, that is how to use the products. I added 1 teaspoon of water to 1 teaspoon of the cleanser and washed my face with it. If you want a thicker consistency, add less water and if you want a thinner consistency, add more water as compared to the amount of cleanser. The skin looks visibly brighter after every use. However, with my skin, I tend to break out the day after I’ve used the cleanser. It might be the scent, because my skin is horribly sensitive. With my mom though, the cleanser has been a life changer. She loves natural, herbal products so when she started using this cleanser she was amazed with the results. Her skin looks clean, fresh and bright every time she uses the cleanser. So, from my point of view, I’d rate it a 2.5 out of 5 whereas for my mother it’s 5 out of 5. She simply loves this stuff!

Pandora Perfect – The Crazy Cleanser

9

I ordered this cleanser the second time around. I find that this suits me better than the Briar Rose cleanser. Even so, I still tend to break out. Not acne, small tiny itchy spots. Again, my mother is a fan. F-A-N. I’d rate this a 3 out of 5, for my mom again this is 5 out of 5.

Rumi’s Notes – The Fixer Upper Face Pack

8

The face packs from FFYF can be used as both as masks or scrubs. I love me a good exfoliator so I couldn’t wait to try this out. However the scent on this one is especially strong. Don’t get me wrong, it smells WONDERFUL, but my skin tends to hate that and gets really irritated. So unfortunately for me this is a 1 out of 5. My mother likes this one but doesn’t quite love it, even so she says she’d give it a 4 out 5.

Mint Cooler – The Fixer Upper Face Pack

7

This face pack is one that makes me wish, from the bottom of my heart, that my skin wasn’t this sensitive. This is the PERFECT way to beat the heat. We all know how hot it can get here in Karachi. The name is quite self-explanatory because it does exactly as it says. It really DOES cool your skin. If you want to enjoy this mask to the fullest, I’d suggest lying down, relaxing and letting the cooling sensation take you away. It’s a little “tingly” and gives you the slightest burning sensation when you first put it on, but that’s because of the tea tree and peppermint oils. Don’t worry – the sensation will pass in a few seconds and leave your face fresh and cool. I rate this product a 4 out of 5, because even this one makes me break out. My mother though, this one is her ultimate favorite. So she rates it a 1000 out of 5.

The Terrific Toner

6

Now here is one product that DOESN’T make me break out *insert happy tears*. This toner is supposed to balance your skin’s pH. If you want the best results, keep it refrigerated and use it from time to time. I think this product really compliments the mint cooler, because this is also an amazing, revitalizing product for the skin in the summers. My mom and I both love this, and rate it a full 5 out of 5. The packaging on this one is cuter than the rest of the products, so I give an extra point for that.

***Disclaimer – This is how the experience has been for my mom and I. Different people will have different experiences, based on their skin type.***

Here’s the link to their facebook page for all of you who’d like to check it out

https://www.facebook.com/FoodforyourFace/

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. InYourFace says:

    Love the post! Ive used a few of their products too and absolutely loved them!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wish I didn’t react to them, they’d be perfect for my skin otherwise 😦

      Like

Leave a comment